Dr. Lisa Su is teasing AMD Zen 4 CPU details on Monday and Gigabyte is promising AM5 cards

Gigabyte has announced its intention to showcase AM5 motherboards at Computex this year, with support for AMD’s upcoming Zen 4 CPUs, and a tacit admission that AMD will likely be talking about its new generation of Ryzen processors in the CEO keynote. from Computex by Dr. Lisa Su on Monday morning.

And given that Dr. Su has tweeted great images of the next processor, I’d say it’s set now.

In your Computex Gigabyte press release is promising to display “AMD Socket AM5 motherboards with advanced design and extensive features of PCIe 5.0 graphics slot and M.2 Gen5 interface”.

And yes, that socket will have the pins in it, rather than the pins being on the CPUs themselves. AMD is getting more and more like Intel…

We also know that the AM5 socket used in the upcoming X670 motherboards will provide support for DDR5 for the first time on an AMD platform. One memory brand has even suggested it will support higher native RAM speeds out of the box compared to the Intel Alder Lake platform it initially debuted on.

ASRock has also confirmed that it will show off the X670 cards as well, as Komachi Ensaka discovered a private YouTube video via Twitter. This details a number of Zen 4 motherboards to come, as well as… excuse me as I gulp down that bit of bile in my throat… an NFT-edition Intel Riptide board “co-engineered by thousands of people”.

The video description reads: “ASRock unveils a series of motherboards based on the revolutionary AMD X670 chipset. The new motherboards are equipped with many exciting features and new technologies such as PCIe 5.0 and DDR5 capability, the insane IO capability, including Thunderbolt 4.0 support pushed the X670 platform even further into the high-end desktop category.

“ASRock also put a lot of effort into the VRM design, with a total of 26 SPS Dr.MOS design phases on the X670E Taichi, it is the most powerful AM5 product ASRock can offer.”

AMD’s Computex Lecture looks like it will primarily be focused on the desktop side, which means we’re expecting a Zen 4 announcement, a chip being kept on stage again, and maybe, just maybe, some RDNA 3 graphics cards will also be mentioned. .

The talk will take place on Monday, May 23 at 2 pm Taipei time, which is 2 am ET, 11 pm PT (on Sunday 22, a little confusing) and 7 am UK time.

Leave a Comment